The Republic of Yemen lies to the south of Arabia ( The Arabian Peninsula, between latitudes 12 and 20 degrees to the north of the equator, and 41 and 54 degrees to the south of Greenwich, bordered on the north by Suadi Arabia on the  south by the Arab Sea and the Gulf of Aden, on the east by the Sultanate of Oman,and on the west by the Red Sea.


The area of the Republic of Yemen exceeds 555,000 km.    



The population of the Republic of Yemen is 19,700,000.




Arabic is the official language of the country, and English being the most      language.


Islam is the official religion It is the religion for all the population.


Geographical Divisions


In viem of its topographical structure, the Republic of Yemen is divided into.


1.     Mountain

2.     Highland

3.     Coastal

4.     Empty Quarter

5.     lslands


1)  Mountain region with heights ranging


The western mountain range represent a large area of the country. It is called Al-Surat mountains stretching longitudinally from the north to the south   and transversally from the west to the east which resembles the lette heights go down in different directions. They descend sharply west to the    Red Sea, southwards to the Gulf of Aden, and eastwards and north interior desert areas. In the mountain heights, stretching from the south, there are a number of basins (beds), of considerable importance with large populations, such as Sana,a basin, Yarim    flatland, Sa,da flatland, Alboun flatland, Aqwat Hadhramout bed and in Mahara. The most prominent mountains in these heights are the    Attaq, Bayhan, Mukairas, Al- Dhalie, Yafie, Sabra, Hudhour Alshe and Prophet Shu,aib which lies at 3766m above sea level is the highest spot in Arabia.

















2)       The Highland region


This area lies to the east and north of the mountainous heights going to the heights towards the Empty Quarter. The maximum height of 1000m gradually descending. Such area is represented by the     Sana,a Al jouf, Shabwa, Hadhramout and Mahara. The out- skirts of the north overlap with the Empty Quarter.


3)   The coastal Area


This area includes the coastal plains overlooking the Red Sea, Arabian Gulf Sea. They are connected to each other forming a coast that extends from Oman border westward to Bab Al- Mandab     then changes its direction northward to the borders of Saudi Arabia, more than 2400km,. long. The width of the plains range from 30 to 60KM


4)   The Empty Quarter


This is a Yemeni desert area located to the north of Hadhramout and to the south of the western heights. This area consists of desert plane   with gravel, sand and sandy dunes involving in some parts     vast oases, seasonally  inhabited by wandering nomads because of its pastoral land.


5)       The Yemeni lslands


This part of the country consists of    

 islands scattered along the coasts.

There are 120 islands, most of which are located in the Red Sea. Islands are Kamaran, Greater Hunaish, Minor Hunaish, the rest of    Zaqar, Zubair, Al- Tayr and the strategic island of Meon at the Bab AL MANDABB in addition there are islands located in the Gulf of Aden and the Arabian sea, largest of which is Soqatra.











Climate :


Since Yemen is endowed with varied topography, the climate, exhibits variation although there are no major seasonal differences. We can say there are summer and winter. During summer, the temperature and humidity are    areas, while the climate is moderate during winter. From time to time the monsoon moderates the temperature over the coastal areas. In other areas, the weather is moderate in summer and cold in winter during the  morning, but the bright sun rays raise the temperature during the day making the climate   moderate in these parts of the country.



© Copyright alraiby.com  2006

Design by RIT solution